2011 HM Awards - Hall of Fame Inductees


The gala presentation dinner also saw the induction of four more Hoteliers into the HM Awards Hall of Fame – alongside Stephen Lewis (2010) and David Baffsky and Patrick Griffin (2009).

The 2011 HM Awards Hall of Fame recognised the dedication of one hard working former CEO and three men who helped change the face of hospitality in Australia.

The first group of the inductees was three men who were on a mission to create a new standard for the accommodation industry here in Australia. They came from different backgrounds and different parts of the world – one from New Zealand, another Australia and the last from Switzerland.


Many Hoteliers and key staff in the Australasian hotel industry either went to one of their schools, or have staff in your hotels that graduated from them. What they have done for hospitality education since first opening the Blue Mountains Hotel School in 1991 has been quite remarkable.

Congratulations to Max Player, Fritz Gubler and Gavin Faull of the Blue Mountains Hotel School and the Pacific International Hotel Management School in New Zealand. “To be recognised by the industry is amazing and I am truly humbled by the award,” Player said.

Also inducted into the 2011 HM Awards Hall of Fame was former Mirvac Hotels and Resorts CEO Andrew Turner. Turner successfully launched Hamilton Island to the world with long time mate and visionary, Keith Williams, and then joined Mirvac Hotels and Resorts as General Manager of Marketing in 1991 before being promoted CEO in August 1994. He now has his own business called Shenton Hospitality and is involved in consulting to major hotel chains on a regular basis.

关于我们   |   新酒店开业   |   忠诚计划   |   职业发展   |   新闻   |   联系我们   |   网站地图